Metadata and Cataloging Librarian
1 Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, Texas 78228
Find Articles in Databases
You will links to articles, either full-text or abstracts, in the selected databases. These are the key databases that are often discussed in research classes and by other students. You can find a complete list of Engineering databases on the A to Z page.
Key Library Databases
- Discover This link opens in a new window
Blume Library's primary search tool. This robust feature helps scholars find scholarly journals and articles, books, eBooks, music, videos, government information, and more. Input the keywords of your research to generate a results list full of articles and items covering the topic. Use boolean phrases (AND, OR, NOT) and other limiters to focus a search or modify a results list. This tool searches most of the Blume Library holdings including the Library Catalog of physical items and eResources.
Learn more about this powerful resource: DISCOVER
Reach out to a Blume Librarian for research assistance: RESEARCH ASSISTANCE - ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery, and networking platform containing:
- Some open-access articles and content.
- Abstracts and indexes for Engineering and other sciences - IEEE Xplore (no full text) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts for journals, conference proceedings, and other materials published by IEEE. No full text online. For full text access, request articles using Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
- SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full text titles in the natural sciences, science, and technology. Coverage of scholarly journals, trade and industry publications, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, etc.
Google Scholar
You may also want to search Google Scholar. I often use Google Scholar to find more recent work that cites an article or book I found in another databases. It can also be a good way to find additional related content. Be aware that you will not be able to limit your Google Scholar results to the level you can with library databases.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats, times, and disciplines. **Only use academically sound resources. When in doubt, check with a LIBRARIAN
- Google Scholar Search TipsTips for searching, email alerts, setting up library links, citation help, coverage, and more.
Journals List
Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper?
Use Journals List to search for the title of a journal, magazines, or newspaper and determine if the library offers online access or print access to that publication.
- Journals List VideoWatch this short video if you want to see an example search with remote access.
Engineering Journals
These lists come from the Journals List from the Blume Library. These lists show peer reviewed journal titles, as defined by EBSCO, for the disciples listed below. You should always search the full Journals List if you have a question about a specific journal title.