Resources for individuals who want to better educate themselves, reach awareness regarding systemic racism, discover sources to help become better allies, and engage in social justice practices in our various societal institutions whether they are busines
Begin your search with this database! Contains more than 8,500 full text periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Includes multiple languages. Journals offered cover all areas of study.
Active full-text, non-open access journals: 3,201
Active full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals: 2,758
Active full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals with no embargo: 1,008
- Primary sources devoted specifically to African American family history, including census records, vital records, freedman and slave records, church records, legal records, and more.
- The newest primary source collections include North Carolina cohabitation records, North Carolina and West Virginia marriage records, U.S. Colored Troops Records (1861-1865), and registers of slaves and free persons of color from select states and counties.
- Unique access to family history books related to African Americans, including titles from Genealogical Publishing Company made available in digital format for the first time ever.
- Exclusive access to an updated, online edition of Black Genesis—an exhaustive guide that makes locating resources pertaining to slaves and free blacks easier.
- Exclusive partnership with AfriGeneas—recognized as a leading social networking site devoted to African American genealogy—that provides direct access to expert advice, moderated forums, chats, mailing lists, surname registry, and more.
- Unlimited site and remote access to extend availability 24/7.
- Seach essential historical records including Federal Census, Marriage and Cohabitation Records, Military Draft and Service Records, Registers of Slaves and Free(d) Persons of Color, Freedman's Book, and more.
An award-winning, hassle-free eBook experience—anytime, anywhere, and on any device. Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
Collections include titles on:
Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, LCO, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, SATA, Science, Social Science, Technology
This resource was formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library
Academic journals in the humanities with some full-text articles. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, and performance and media reviews.
158 Active full-text, non-open access journals
125 Active full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open-access journals
91 Active full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals with no embargo
125 Active full-text, non-open access journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus
JSTOR journals, books, images, and primary sources are integrated into a single, robust platform that uses the latest digital technologies and best practices. JSTOR provides access to over 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Full runs of journals from more than 2,800 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. More than 100,000 ebooks from 250+ renowned scholarly publishers, integrated with journals and primary sources on JSTOR. This source also includes open-access articles!
Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of classic and contemporary full-text poems, short stories, and novels.
Other content includes:
More than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews
More than 213,000 author biographies
More than 11,000 author interviews
More than 360 full-text literary journals
More than 1.1 million book reviews
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present.
MLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literature, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, the teaching of language, and the history of publishing. Its expansive scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies and area studies.
25,000 indexed journals and book series
2,000 book publishers
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America.
Provides digital access to large-scale maps of Texas towns and cities. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years.