Getting Started
It's important to have a good broad understanding of your topic before you start looking for specific information. The sources in the boxes below can give you an overview of your subject and help you refine your research strategy and find useful terms to use in searches.
Doing research in any field will always reveal unexpected complexities and facets of the topic at hand. Interdisciplinary topics can be particularly complex. Get a head start on the complications that will come up by using these library resources.
Doing Research in the Social Sciences
This LibGuide is a one-stop shop for doing research on social science-related issues, particularly for students in HO1302.
On this "Home" tab, you'll find suggested starting points for getting a background understanding of your topic, links to other guides, and library contact information.
If you are unfamiliar with the Blume Library and how to find books and articles in the Library and through our subscription databases, check out the "Library Basics" tabs.
The "Government Info" tab gives guidance in using government-provided information resources and links to more detailed guides in this field.
The "Evaluating Information" and "APA" tabs give general information to help you decide what sources are best to use for your research, and details on how to cite and credit them in papers using the APA format.
Gale eBooks
- Gale eBooks: General Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowAn award-winning, hassle-free eBook experience—anytime, anywhere, and on any device. Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
Collections include titles on:
Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, LCO, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, SATA, Science, Social Science, Technology
Psychology Databases
Guides & compilations
The Blume Library website offers research guides and compilations of resources that can save your research time. Here are some selected resources:
- Blume Library Research Guides links to all of the guides developed by Blume Librarians
- Catholic Social Teaching Resources for understanding Catholic Social Teaching and its application in the modern world.
- Citation and Documentation Guide Guidelines and examples of citing information using other citation formats, e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago, etc..
- Country Research Country research sources, both online and in print. This guide focuses on business and economics sources.
- Education Resources This guide provides a basic overview for students in the Teacher Education program.
- Government Information guide to government information
- Historical Research guide to select resource for history research, including online digital collections, and print and microform collections in the Blume Library, including primary sources
- Psychology Guides guides created by Blume Librarians to aid in psychology research project
- Resources for Mediation/Conflict Resolution tips on searching for books, journal articles, government publications, and ebooks plus links to academic and other organizations in the field
Questions? Ask Us
Circulation
210-436-3430
Research Help
210-436-3673 or 210-436-3346
Credits
This guide was originally developed by retired librarian Kathy Amen.