Skip to main content

EA 3321 - Media Writing and Reporting : Articles

Resources for students in this course, and for others conducting media research.

Articles: News Sources Databases

Additional News Databases

Database Search Tips

  • Consider what type of information you need and where you might find it.
  • Break your topic into key concepts and identify terms for each concept. Start with fewer words. Less yields more.
  • Don't be too narrow in your search, especially initially.
  • Use Boolean connectors like andorand not to connect keywords. Many databases search the words as a phrase otherwise.
  • In general, avoid using prepositions like "in," "of," and "on."
  • Truncation characters such as an * (asterisk) can expand your search by retrieving various forms of a word, e.g., comput* retrieves computer, computers, computing, computation, etc.
  • Look at the subject terms or descriptors that are used for articles that appear relevant. Try other searches using those terms.
  • Consult a librarian or your faculty member for additional related terms.
  • Think about which individuals or groups of people or organizations are associated with your topic. These might be additional terms to search.

Evaluate Article Relevance & Quality

  • Look at subject terms applied to relevant articles. Did you find additional articles by searching these subject headings?
  • Which terms or search strategies yielded the best results?
  • Look at the abstract. Are there additional keyword terms you might search?
  • How long is the article?
  • In which journal or periodical was this article published? What is the journal's or magazine's reputation? How do you know?
  • When was the article published? What time period does the research or article cover?
  • Who is the author of the article? What are the author's credentials? What qualifies the author as an expert?
  • What sources are cited in this article?
  • How will this source advance the research project?
  • See Evaluate Information for more criteria.

In Class Exercise

  1. Open an email message. What is your story idea?
  2. What sources have you examined prior to today's class? Please be specific: name specific web sites you've viewed, or other sources you've consulted or examined.
  3. Search for an article from one of the databases listed in the left column or one of the other subscription databases discussed individually with the librarian, Diane Duesterhoeft.
  4. Which database(s) did you search?
  5. What search terms did you type?
  6. Select an article that you retrieved from the database.
  7. Type the APA citation information into the email message. You may need to edit this information. 
  8. How will this article further your research?
  9. Type EA3321 and your name in the subject line of the email message.
  10. Email this information to dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu 

    Journals List

    Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper?

    Use Journals List to search for the title of a journal, magazines, or newspaper and tell if the library offers online access or print access to that publication.

    Search: Journals List

    In Class Exercise Rubric