Digital Literacy and Reference Librarian
Anacely Lopez Murphy
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
St. Mary's University
Louis J. Blume Library
One Camino Santa Maria, San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
Louis J. Blume Library
One Camino Santa Maria, San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
210-436-3673
Website
TexQuest Resources for Texas K-12 Schools
- Texquest"TexQuest is a statewide digital resources program that provides anytime, anywhere access to high quality, authoritative digital resources to all educators, students, and students' immediate families in Texas K-12 public schools and open enrollment charter schools."
Student teachers should check at their assigned school to see if their school participates in the program.
Content Area Websites
- Database of Award Winning Children's LiteratureThis very complete list of children's award books can be searched by genre using one of the drop down menus in the database. Created by Lisa Bartle who is a reference librarian at California State, San Bernardino.
- Mathematical FictionSuggestions for aficionados of math and reading. By Alex Kasman, College of Charleston.
- National Council of Social Studies Notable Trade BooksNotable social studies trade books. The most recent year is available to members of the NCSS and in the May/June issue of Social Education. The list is published in collaboration with the Children's Book Council.
- TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new windowCollection of resources you can use to explore children's and young adult books and their authors. Includes short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides, and more.
Learn more about this resources: https://lib.stmarytx.edu/teachingbooks
Challenged and Banned Books
Resources in the Blume Library
- SUBJECT-BASED SELECTION TOOLS FOR YOUNG ADULT AND CHILDREN'S LITERATUREA list of print and online bibliographies in the Blume Library
Finding Books in our Children's Collection in the Library Catalog
Books in the children's collection can be found by using an author or title search. Search by subject is best achieved by selecting the advanced search option and using the word "juvenile" in the subject search box to limit to material in our children's collection. Examples of searches are:
alphabet juvenile (which would retrieve alphabet books)
science juvenile (which would retrieve science material written for young people)
history juvenile (which would retrieve history material written for young people)
One Book One School Ideas and Programs
Suggested Readings
Off-campus users must be logged into the St. Mary's ez proxy server to access the articles below.