Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find detailed contact information for Texas' and the San Antonio area's Senators and Representatives (as well as officials in state and local government) check out our Contact Your Legislators Research Guide.
Biographical Directory of the US Congress 1774 to the Present
Search on name, position, state, party, or year. Brief information provided.
Includes profile pages for committees including members. Also links to bills being considered, hearings, and reports.
search for information about member of the current and previous Congress; includes links to the members' remarks in the Congressional Record, and to bills they have introduced or sponsored
1995-present with a delay. Includes the Calendars of the U.S. House of Representatives and History of Legislation and the Senate Calendar of Business.
Links to various House, Senate, and other congressional committees, from GPO.
1997-present. Congressional member directory includes short biographies, committee memberships, etc.
Congressional Pictorial Directory
1997-present. Compilation of color photographs of the Members of each Congress, including Senate and House leadership, etc..
Current House Floor Proceedings
daily index to current week's activity from the Clerk of the House
House of Representatives
Schedules, directories, administrative information, reference resources.
1996-present. Reference source for information on the rules and selected precedents governing the House procedure.
House Rules & Manual
1995 to the present. Contains the fundamental source material for parliamentary procedure used in the House of Representatives.
Precedents of the US House of Representatives
Collection contains four series of volumes t: Precedents of the U.S. House of Representatives (2017 series), Deschler’s Precedents (1936-2013), Cannon’s Precedents (1907-1936), and Hinds’ Precedents (1789-1907)
Riddick's Senate Procedure
Contains the contemporary precedents and practices of the Senate.
Roll Call Votes
1989 to the present. House and Senate votes by congressional session.
schedules, directories, some historical information, statistics, reference resources
1996-2014. The standing rules, orders, laws, and resolutions affecting the Senate.
1994-present. Treaty documents are available on Congress.gov for all treaties submitted to the Senate.
Tributes in Congress
1994-present. Tribute speeches delivered in Congress.
If you want to see what's going on in the House of Representatives RIGHT NOW, check this out (they also provide archived video on demand):
Congressional Data Coalition
blog and data tools aimed at promoting transparency, preservation, and access to information about Congress
news coverage on Congress, politics in general, and important policy areas
news on Congress and politics in general; includes videos, photos, and blogs
details from news sources about current doings in Congress; a good source of material on individuals and policy areas of current interest
In the Library
Documents Collection (2nd Floor; can be checked out)
- Congressional Directory. Y 4.P 93/1: 1/ . Latest edition is at the Research Station; 98th Congress–present in the Documents Stacks; 89th-97th Congress in Storage.
- Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, 1774-2005. Y 1.1/2:14902. Listings by Congress, with brief biographical information.
- Congressional Pictorial Directory. Y 4.P 93/1:1 P/ . 98th Congress–present in the Documents Stacks; 90th-97th Congresses in Storage.
- The Senate. Y 1.1/2:13723-6. Two volumes contain Robert Byrd's addresses on the history of the Senate, one contains classic speeches (1830-1993) and one historical statistics (1789-1992).
- History of the U.S. House of Representatives, 1789-1994. Y 1.1/2:14248.
Reference books for use in the Library (in Learning Commons, 1st Floor):
- Almanac of American Politics. REF JK 1012 .A44.Politician and district profiles, voting records, etc. 1972- present (some years missing)
- Congress and the Nation. REF JK 1061 .C6. Summaries of Congressional action. 1945–2004.
- CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Almanac. REF JK 1 .C66. An annual publication that reviews the work of Congress. 1960–present.
- Encyclopedia of the U.S. Congress. REF JK 1067 .E63 1995.
- Politics in America. REF JK 1012 .C63. The most biographical information on current and recent members of Congress. 1984–2008.
The Dirksen Center's Congressional Timeline provides information about each Congress back to 1933 (73rd Congress). They've recently updated the Timeline and added features: in addition to major legislation passed, and basic information for each Congress, they now also offer measures of legislative productivity, information about women and African Americans serving, and links to lesson plans related to legislation for teachers. There's an accompanying collection of photos and documents, as well as video and audio, for each Congress as well.
Of course, lobbying and lobbyists are an important part of the legislative process. Here are some links to information about lobbying:
In depth research about Congress, as well as historical research in many areas, may require access to Congressional papers.