Special Collections and University Archives

A list of archival repositories (with links) is available through the San Antonio Regional Archivists (SARA) at the following address:

https://sites.google.com/view/sanantonioregionalarchivists/local-repositories?authuser=0

A list of many Texas archival repositories can be found at the Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO) site.

A Few Archival Repositories outside of San Antonio

• National Archives has many locations and presidential libraries including a NYC Facility
  • National Archives Digital Exhibits and Digital Vault on Docs Teach
  • Digital collections suggested by but not in the National Archives
  • Many Federal agency, Congress and POTUS statements and policies are digitally available from a National Archives search
• Library of Congress
  • Library of Congress Digital Collections

• Smithsonian Institution – Collections search
  • Smithsonian Institution Digital Library

Finding Archival and other Primary Materials

• ArchiveGrid
• WorldCat – the first step is to search your topic here, restricting to “Archival” and/or “Internet” (for digitally available materials)
• Secondary Sources – Archival materials used for articles and books are cited in the references – this is a great way to find repositories and collections to support your research.
• Google Search – The John Jay special collections gets most of our researchers through google searches!

• AHA Archives Wiki
• NHPRC Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the U.S. [is over 3 decades old]
• National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
• UNESCO Archives Portal